Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube


The NSW Premier's Multicultural Communications Awards (PMCAs) recognise excellence in the multicultural media and marketing industry. Nominations close Friday 6 September 2019.

NSW is one of the most successful Multicultural states in the world and it is important to celebrate the benefits of our diversity. The PMCAs acknowledge the important role marketing and media professionals play in communicating this success.

The PMCAs recognise the valuable contribution multicultural media and marketing plays in our society by connecting people to their culture, identity, and language. These awards celebrate and recognise the important role journalists, editors and publishers in print, radio, television and digital media play. They also honour innovative and creative marketing campaigns that inspire social cohesion and community harmony.

READ: An article on what makes a great entry for the PMCAs

Nominations are now closed


Media Categories

The following seven categories are open to MULTICULTURAL MEDIA ONLY.

Submissions for multicultural media categories must either be submitted in a language other than English, or demonstrate the submission caters to a specific multicultural community. In these categories, submissions from public broadcasters will only be accepted in a language other than English.

The works nominated should have been developed between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019.

Best Print Report
Recognising excellence in print journalism. ("Print" in this instance can be defined as online text.)

Best Audio Report
Excellence in audio journalism for radio or digital platforms, including podcasts.

Publication of the year
Outstanding contribution of a multicultural media publication in informing and engaging its audience.

Best Audio/Visual Report
Excellence in broadcast and audio-visual storytelling, including video journalism for TV and digital platforms.

Best use of Digital or Social Media
Outstanding use of digital production and multimedia storytelling, and/or social media.

Young Journalist of the Year
Excellence and commitment to the fundamental principles of journalism (under 30 yrs of age).

Lifetime Achievement Award
The pinnacle of journalistic achievement. (Exceeds 30 years of experience).

The following two categories are open to ALL MEDIA.

Public Interest Award
Outstanding public interest journalism upholding the NSW Multicultural Principles.

Alan Knight Student Award
The best piece of student journalism about cultural diversity, and/or multicultural affairs. Entry is open to secondary school, tertiary, TAFE and private college students in NSW.

Marketing Categories

Have you worked on a marketing, advertising, communication or social media campaign that showcases diversity in a creative or innovative way? Then we encourage you to apply for a PMCA.

The project or campaign being nominated should have been developed between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2019. Entrants are encouraged to include all relevant materials to support their entry. All joint entries should be submitted in agreement with both parties.

Campaign of the Year – Business
Recognising internal marketing and creative teams in organisations, including the public service.

Campaign of the Year – Agency
Recognising public relations, advertising, and digital agencies.

Campaign of the Year – Community
Recognising not-for-profits and volunteer-based groups.

If you have any enquiries regarding the Awards please contact 02 8255 6767.