Award Categories: Media

The following seven categories are open to MULTICULTURAL MEDIA ONLY.

The following seven categories are open to MULTICULTURAL MEDIA ONLY. Submissions for multicultural media categories must either be submitted in a language other than English, or demonstrate the submission caters to a specific multicultural community.

In these categories, submissions from public broadcasters like SBS and ABC will only be accepted in a language other than English.

The works nominated should have been developed in 2021/22.

  • Best Text Report
    Recognising excellence in text journalism. ("Text" in this instance can be defined as both print and online text.)
  • Best Audio Report
    Excellence in audio journalism for radio or digital platforms, including podcasts.
  • Publication of the year
    Outstanding contribution of a multicultural media publication in informing and engaging its audience.
  • Best Audio/Visual Report
    Excellence in broadcast and audio-visual storytelling, including video journalism for TV and digital platforms.
  • Best use of Digital or Social Media
    Outstanding use of digital production and multimedia storytelling, and/or social media.
  • Young Journalist of the Year
    Excellence and commitment to the fundamental principles of journalism (under 30 yrs of age).
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    The pinnacle of journalistic achievement. (Exceeds 30 years of experience).

The following two categories are open to ALL MEDIA.

  • Public Interest Award
    Outstanding public interest journalism upholding the NSW Multicultural Principles.
  • Alan Knight Student Award
    The best piece of student journalism about cultural diversity, and/or multicultural affairs. Entry is open to secondary school, tertiary, TAFE and private college students in NSW.