Premier’s Multicultural Media and Communications Awards Winners Announced

The winners of the 2022 Premier’s Multicultural Media and Communications Awards have been named, recognising the important contributions they make to supporting NSW’s diverse communities.

NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet and Minister for Multiculturalism Mark Coure announced the winners at a special ceremony tonight (Thursday 8 September).

“The NSW Government has been proudly hosting this awards ceremony for five years, and it is the only one of its kind in Australia that celebrates the valued contributions of the multicultural media and marketing industry,” Mr Perrottet said.

“I commend this year’s winners and finalists and would like to personally thank them for their ongoing work in supporting, engaging with and informing diverse audiences across our state.”

Among the 12 winners were Mimi Chau who won the Lifetime Achievement Award, India Link’s Rhea L Nath who won Young Journalist of the Year, and Muslim Women Australia who won Best Use of Digital or Social Media.

Minister for Multiculturalism Mark Coure said our diverse media and marketing landscape is a testament to NSW’s rich multicultural society.

“There is a newspaper, magazine, online publication or radio station for almost every language and culture here in NSW,” Mr Coure said.

“They speak directly to those communities, keeping them not only informed, but also connected to their culture and language.

“I am proud that NSW is the only state in the country to recognise multicultural communicators with this standalone awards ceremony.”
The winners are:
• Best audio-visual report – Plus61j Media
• Best text report – Indian Link’s Pawan Luthra, Rajni Anand Luthra
• Publication of the Year – SBS Dari/SBS Pashto
• Young Journalist of the Year – Rhea L Nath from Indian Link
• Alan Knight Student Award – Boushra Elkheir
• Best Audio Report – National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters Council
• Lifetime Achievement Award – Mimi Chau
• Public Interest Award – SBS Insight
• Best Use of Digital or Social Media – Muslim Women Australia
• Agency Campaign of the Year – Loud and Identity Comms
• Business Campaign of the year – NSW Department of Customer Service, NSW Health and MHCS, UM/Identity, Etcom
• Community Campaign of the Year – South Eastern Community Connect

For more information about this year’s winners, finalists and the awards program, visit:

Media: Clem Hall | Premier | 0499 818 662
Scott Hodder | Minister Coure | 0455 094 282

Page last updated: 3 May 2023 | 3:09 pm