The NSW Government has welcomed the appointment of four new members to the Multicultural NSW Advisory Board.

Malaemie Fruean OAM, David Giang, George Vardas and the Board’s newest Youth Member, Polina Mycak, will each serve three-year terms on the Advisory Board until 2026.

Ömer Incekara, was reappointed after serving a three-year term and Esther Adeyinka was appointed to a general Board Member from the Youth position to an additional three-year term.

The merit-based selection process attracted more than 150 applications.

Minister Kamper thanked the outgoing Advisory Board members (Margaret Piper, Ken Hong, Sam Elmir and Grace Ho) for their committed service advising Government on multicultural policy, improving equitable access to services for all people in NSW, and ensuring no one is left behind

Chaired by Nick Kaldas APM, the Multicultural NSW Advisory Board provides advice and guidance on a range of matters relating to culturally and linguistically diverse communities.

Further information about the new members is as follows:

  • Polina Mycak (youth member)

Polina Mycak is passionate about the promotion of multicultural principles. She is also a member of the Ukrainian Youth Association, and an undergraduate at Macquarie University studying Psychology and Arts, with an interest in cross cultural psychology.

  • George Vardas

George is a practising lawyer, accredited mediator, and cultural heritage consultant. He has extensive experience advising on multicultural policy and working with multicultural groups to effectively campaign to bring about positive change.

  • Malaemie Fruean OAM

Malaemie is a strong advocate for Pacifica communities and is well known and respected across Western Sydney. She is committed to sharing her knowledge and extensive experience in community engagement to increase cultural awareness.

  • David Giang

David is Managing Director and Editor of Australia’s first and only Vietnamese language newspaper, Chieu Duong (The Sunrise Daily) – the only remaining Vietnamese print publication in Australia today. He recently founded the Independent Multicultural Media Association (IMMA).

The following two members have been reappointed:

  • Esther Adeyinka

Esther is passionate about making sure that diverse voices are heard and respected in decision-making spaces, particularly the voices of young, diverse women. She works as a lawyer in a commercial law firm and is also a small business owner.

  • Ömer Incekara

Ömer is passionate about community language schools and promoting multiculturalism. Ömer is CEO of an advertising agency and sits on several boards and associations. He is Chair of the Ataturk Scholarship and Director of the Australian Turkish Mutual Alliance (ATMA).

NSW Minister for Multiculturalism Steve Kamper said:

“The Advisory Board has a vital role to play as a conduit between community, Multicultural NSW and the NSW Government.”

“Drawing on their community connections, cross-cultural understanding and lived experience, our Advisory Board elevates the voices of the wider community.”

“In partnership with Multicultural NSW CEO Joseph La Posta, I look forward to working with the new members and entire Advisory Board, to ensure future generations of NSW residents can enjoy the benefits of living in one of the world’s greatest multicultural states.”

Multicultural NSW Advisory Board Chair Nick Kaldas, APM said:

“Our vision is for a stronger NSW, using our cultural diversity as a vehicle to achieve cultural and economic prosperity.

“We are committed to ensuring the views and concerns of all people are heard in government decision-making processes and that everyone has equal access to government services.”

“Through understanding our communities, we can deliver improved services, make better use of our cultural and linguistic resources and be more cohesive and resilient in response to challenges.”

MEDIA: Jonathan Symons | Minister Kamper | 0407 488 158

Page last updated: 24 January 2024 | 3:38 pm