About the Awards

About the Awards

The NSW Premier's Multicultural Communications Awards (PMCAs) recognise excellence in the multicultural media and marketing industry. Nominations close Friday 6 September 2019.

NSW is one of the most successful Multicultural states in the world and it is important to celebrate the benefits of our diversity. The PMCAs acknowledge the important role marketing and media professionals play in communicating this success.

The PMCAs recognise the valuable contribution multicultural media and marketing plays in our society by connecting people to their culture, identity, and language. These awards celebrate and recognise the important role journalists, editors and publishers in print, radio, television and digital media play. They also honour innovative and creative marketing campaigns that inspire social cohesion and community harmony.

READ: An article on what makes a great entry for the PMCAs

2019 Premier's Multicultural Communications Awards Winners and Finalists

Campaign of the Year – Agency

  • Winner: Cultural Perspectives –Your vote will help shape Australia
  • Jia HE Production Pty Ltd – Why Not?
  • CulturalPulse - Celebrating Multicultural Achievement

Campaign of the Year – Business

  • BizCover Pty Ltd – Chinese New Year 2019
  • Winner: SunRice and Identity Communications – SunRice the Rice Breaker
  • UTS Insearch – My Unilife


Campaign of the Year – Community

  • Co.As.It. – IBS Project
  • Winner: Hindu Council of Australia – Deepavali Fair
  • Metro Assist – Breast Screen Awareness in Migrant Communities Project
  • Community and Cultural Connections Inc in partnership with Inner West Area Sector Support Development Officer, Inner West Council, Sydney Local Health District, Canterbury-Bankstown City Council and 17 other community organisations – Sydney Inner West Dementia Campaign


Best Audio Report

  • Dr Anju Mathur – Ethnic Communities’ Council of NSW
  • Leah Hyein Na – SBS Korean
  • Winner: Manpreet Kaur Singh, Shamsher Kainth, Avneet Arora and Maya Jamieson – SBS Punjabi


Best Audio-Visual Report

  • Winner: Andrea Booth – NITV, The Point
  • Raj Natarajan – OzIndian Media
  • Rajni Anand Luthra and Charu Menon – Indian Link Media Group
  • Sydney Today


Best Print Report

  • Neena Badhwar – The Indian Down Under
  • Shyamla Eswaran – Desi Media Group
  • Winner: Zia Ahmad – AMUST


Publication of the Year

  • Winner: AMUST
  • Indian Link Media Group
  • SBS Arabic24


Alan Knight Student Award

  • Amaani Siddeek
  • Michelle Gallace 
  • Winner: Nadine Silva


Young Journalist of the Year

  • Manan Luthra – Indian Link Media Group
  • Sanjana Suryawanshi – Desi Media Group
  • Winner: Xinrui (Rena) Li – Sydney Today


Best Use of Digital of Social Media

  • Jia He – Jia HE Production Pty Ltd
  • Rajni Anand Luthra and Charu Menon – Indian Link Media Group
  • Winner: Sirine Demachkie and Kinderling Kids Radio - Mother Tongue
  • Sydney Today


Public Interest Award 

  • Winner: Avani Dias – triple j Hack
  • Kylie Boltin, Michael Green, Matt Huynh, Chris Hopkins and Ella Rubeli – SBS Australia
  • Maya Jamieson – SBS Bangla + Tariq Hasan


Lifetime Achievement Award 

  • Winner: Antoine Kazzi OAM – El Telegraph


Congratulations to all this year's finalists and winners.